Magnolia-licious Highlites Challenge is having a Wrapped Up Holiday contest. You need to use Mini Wrapped Tilda and Mini Unwrapped Tilda in a Holiday themed project that is Anything But A Card. You can use other Magnolia stamps too if you like but you must use the two previously mentioned Tilda’s in your project.

Each year at Christmas time I make my family a chocolate tree. I’ve been making them for so long now that I can’t remember when it started. It’s become a bit of a tradition. This year I decided to decorate my tree Magnolia style and combine it with the challenge.

This is what I came up with:

Christmas Tree

I’ll warn you now there are many pictures, so you might be here a while.

For a closer look:

Front:

closeup3

Back:

closeup5

My images are stamped with Memento Tuxedo Black onto Copic Express card and coloured with Copic Sketch Markers. The Copics used are as follows: skin: E11, E00, E000, R20 hair: E35, YR24, YR21, YR20 clothes and presents: R29, R27, R24, R22, YG25, YG03, G20, G05, E43, Y26, Y23, Y21, Y000  I have added some stickles to Mini Starlight Tildas wings and wand for a little sparkle effect.

Another look:

closeup b

Tilda is nestled in amongst the yummy Lindt chocolates all around the tree.

closeup tree

Starlight Tilda:

starlight tilda

I have added a pattern to her dress with my Sharpie White Paint Marker and Glitz up her wings and wand with some Stickles

angle view

Now lets hope that my tree makes it until Christmas, each year it seems the Christmas elves get hungry at night and the tree needs refilling 2 or 3 times throughout December.

If you would like to start your own tradition and have a tree for your family you will need : A 4" styrofoam ball which is glued to a 6" piece of dowel (cut a small hole in the ball and insert the dowel ) Put some plaster of Paris inside a small terracotta pot and insert the other end of the dowel. ( you may need to support this while drying) Allow the Paster of Paris to dry over night before decorating. This will give the base some weight to balance out the weight of the chocolates.  I have added 3 packets of Lindt Chocolates to my tree. They are just pinned on so they can be easily removed. The gaps are filled with curling ribbon also attached with pins. You can then add any decoration of your choosing to finish off your tree.

Supplies:
Stamps: Magnolia Mini Wrapped Tilda, Mini Unwrapped Tilda, Mini Starlight Tilda, Sweet Christmas Present
Paper: Bo Bunny Father Christmas Poinsettia
Ink: Memento Tuxedo black
Accessories: Stickles, Acetate Strips, Red Cellophane , Curling Ribbon in Red, Green and Gold, Christmas decorations, Styrofoam Ball, Plaster of Paris, Dowel, Terracotta Pot, Pins, Lindt Chocolates

I will enter this project in the following Challenges:

Magnolia-licious Highlites Wrapped Up Holiday Challenge
Cupcake Craftroom Christmas Traditions

Magnolia-licious

 

 

       Julie